Off The Hook

The promises we held

Have ceased to matter

The thoughts and memories

Are now starting to scatter

I amble on a

Solitary ride

Without you

Walking by my side

The memories

And patterns

We were enmeshed in

Have now started to

Wear thin

Conversations that

Once flowed

Like a stream

Now flash before my

Eyes like a blurred dream

I’ve buried our

Story somewhere

In a forgotten room

And have diminished

Our moments

From each cranny

And nook

And when the urge

To speak to you

Gets the better of me

I just thrust the phone

Off the hook

3 thoughts on “Off The Hook

Leave a Reply

