The turning point

Here’s a rather feeble and amateur attempt at fiction.. really didn’t think it merited being published.. but did publish it after a lot of hemming and hawing

“Mom I’ll manage..I am not coming home now…” Shreya acknowledged these words from her daughter and was misty eyed as she kept the phone. She was in a reverie thinking of that day. The day which decided the direction of her life..Her life the way she wanted it.  The turning point in her life.. The day she had decided to chuck it all and chicken out before she paid heed to her gut feeling and chose to stick it out. And she was none the worse for it an entrepreneur today she was a name to reckon within the industry.

With these words she had urged her daughter not to give up:

“I knew that very moment what I wanted …I wanted home…I wanted that warmth which had the strength to envelop my being. The strength and acceptance which only my own people could give.. The unconditional approval to do and be what I chose.. I cherished my freedom to be and always wanted ready escape routes in any situations in life. But today I stood at a point where there were none. Where I was required to do some soul-searching. I just wasn’t cut for this metropolis existence..it was mechanizing me in a strange sort of way.. I craved for peace… I needed a breather, an escape from the humdrum of everyday existence and the toll that making a mark in a male bastion took on me. I could very well do without criticism that cut through me like a knife dicing vegetables. It was then it dawned that there was no escape I had to find that home within. Eventually we all have to seek love, acceptance and warmth to our own selves. I guess this is what would be my coming of age moment the moment I stopped looking at people around me for love and validation and realized I was the only one who had the right to judge or accept my own actions.”

Shreya smiled to herself as she thought “Times might change, situations seldom do.”Today she had managed to stop her daughter from giving up impetuously….

10 thoughts on “The turning point

  1. “…my coming of age moment the moment I stopped looking at people around me for love and validation and realized I was the only one who had the right to judge or accept my own actions”

    True!

Leave a Reply

