Fight Or Flight ???

While i was growing up I had a hard time dealing with emotions.. I’ve always been very awkward when it comes to expressing emotions especially anger and grief.. In fact I would adopt the ostrich approach bury my head in the sand and pretend nothing ever happened.and carry on with life…Untill recently I was very gauche with expressing affection as well. its only recently that I am getting a little comfortable with it 

If it’s about fight or flight I had always chosen to flee than confront.. It was only when I came and lived on my own did I realise you can’t live in denial like a pigeon who shuts its eyes when it sees a cat approaching it to eat it !! If you repress your emotions when they do erupt like a volcano and end up damaging a lot of your interpersonal relationships… I’ve learnt its important to confront,communicate and face your fears rather than look for the nearest escape route… it still doesn’t come very naturally to me ..but now I at least make an attempt….( at times rather half-baked ones !!)… One can’t live a life of evasiveness…you can fool the entire world by donning a mask but at the end of the day you are accountable to your self…There is this poem that Ive pinned up in my work station recently and really keep going back to it and wish someday I can follow it to the tee…Its about living an authentic life

The last paragraph is indeed inspiring

” You may fool the whole world down the pathway of years

And get pats on the back as you pass,

But your final reward will be heartache and tears

If you’ve cheated the face in the glass.”

6 thoughts on “Fight Or Flight ???

    • @achal sir: thanks for visiting here and being so encouraging.hope all’s well with you. @sulfia:like d way u summed it up!dats true if u speak up people don’t take u 4 granted. @pixie:i can identify with what ur saying about grief

  1. nice post !
    you know, expressing grief is something I’m not really good at.
    I can cry buckets… and express sadness or hurt, but not grief.
    I’m weird like that.

  2. bury ur head in the sand and ppl take u for granted
    start emoting and they think twice bfr takin u for granted

    btw I like ur choice of subjects…:)

  3. LOI, I am not good at sharing sorrow. In fact I don’t like expressing myself when I am sad. I like to deal with it alone or with people I am really close to and that is one reason one rarely finds sad things on my blog. It is just that I am not comfortable sharing the sad part of me with entire world.
    @Solilo : For most of us grief/ sadness are very private emotions . But expressing them nonetheless is important we can’t run away from them can we ?

    As for confronting someone, I can and I have done that many times. But there are times when I thought that it is just not worth it and left too. I guess we all approach a problem with the state of mind we are in at that time. It differs.

    • Read again. 🙂 I didn’t say that we have to run away.

      I wrote that I only share with my close pals on family. I like my little space to deal with such situations. I like it that way.

      Oops I misunderstood Solilo..point taken each one of us has a unique manner of dealing with emotions..I’d say each to his own

Leave a Reply

