Dealing with change

The lure of a living life as we know it is a trap. A bittersweet one at that. Our feet are so firmly ensconced in familiarity, that we retreat into a mental shell even at the inkling of a slight change or anything out of the ordinary. Anything that forces us to change the rhythm of the mundane and ordinary and shakes out of our stupor is downright uncomfortable. We push it into the  dark recesses of our mind or try our best not to take notice of it at all.

We’re fooling ourselves if we think we can live that way. Cause change is just too stubborn it will chase you, hound you and force you to crawl out of the closet and stare you in the face. Look at you with deep penetrating eyes till you succumb to it.  We can fool ourselves by denying it, escaping change or resisting it. But so strong is its pull that we have no choice but to succumb to its forces. And when we do finally embrace it we can look back and reflect on how it was probably for the best that we changed.

Our ingrained stubbornness, a stick in the mud attitude or the need to put on blinkers when we look at change will not do us any favour. We have to grab the bull by the horns and just let life take its own course.

More than an inspirational piece I wrote this post to make myself less resistant to change. I have forever been slow to adapt and have even retreated into a shell at the sight of a personal or professional influx. But gradually I am trying, albeit trying hard to break down the walls in my head. The walls which hold voices that tell me change is risky, and familiarity is a secure, warm home. I have figured that when you say no to change, you’re saying no to the very essence in life. I have a hard time accepting how people change and evolve too. How easily they move on with life and the business of living. And life has its own way of teaching me that this too is an inherent principle of the business of living. The sooner you accept it, the serener life will be.

4 thoughts on “Dealing with change

  1. Pingback: The Art of Change | Fabulous 50's

  2. It impressed, I must say. Really hardly ever do I encounter a weblog that? both educative and entertaining, and let me inform you, you’ve got hit the nail on the head. Your thought is outstanding; the problem is something that not enough persons are talking intelligently about. I’m very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something regarding this.

Leave a Reply

